Book Review – Phillipa Ashley, A Perfect Cornish Summer

B

Escape to Cornwall with this gorgeous new series from Phillipa Ashley – perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Trisha Ashley

Summer is on the horizon, and the people of Porthmellow are eagerly awaiting the annual food festival. At least, most of them are…

For Sam Lovell, organising the summer festival in her hometown is one of the highlights of her year. It’s not always smooth sailing, but she loves to see Porthmellow’s harbour packed with happy visitors, and being on the committee has provided a much-needed distraction from the drama in her family life (and the distinct lack of it in her love life).

When their star guest pulls out with only a few weeks to go, everyone’s delighted when a London chef who grew up locally steps in at the last minute. But Gabe Matthias is the last person Sam was expecting to see, and his return to Porthmellow will change her quiet coastal life for ever.

I’ve been such a fan of Phillipa Ashley’s for ages, not least because she’s as much of a fan of the BBC series North and South as I am! She’s also an amazing awe-inspiring writer of romantic fiction.

I was lucky enough to meet Phillipa briefly last year at the HarperCollins summer party. If any of you are on Twitter or Facebook, you’ll have seen that Phillipa is extremely generous on social media too. That’s where I first ‘met’ her and she was just as lovely in real life!

Whilst A Perfect Cornish Summer has been out for a while, it’s one of my favourite summer reads. From the very first page I was there in Porthmellow and on holiday! The setting is just lovely and the cast of characters is wonderful. Sam is a great leading lady with a complicated family dynamic and with Gabe as a the yummy hero, this really is one you won’t be able to put down! Oh, and there’s a food festival too! Who doesn’t love a food festival?

Amazon link: https://amzn.to/3ciopdL

Add comment

Katie Ginger

The first thing you need to know about me is, I like gin. Lots and lots of gin.
I live in the South East of England in a lovely little town by the sea and spend my time working, running around after my kids, walking our King Charles Spaniel, Wotsit, and writing!

I love history and have a Master’s degree, but have also been lucky enough to work in various castles and museums over the years. I’ve yet to get one of them into a story though – I really must try harder!

Categories